+91-33-40005168 / 23573482 / 3987
Know Us Better

About Us

Home >About Us

MGMI India’s History

With more than 3000 members representing professionals in different fields of mineral based industries; technocrat planners and policy makers both in the private and public sector at State/Central levels; experienced managers in different sub-disciplines ranging from evaluation of resources to their eco-friendly exploitation; academicians/research workers and students from geology, mining and metallurgy stream; chief executives of most of the organisations related to 'Mines and minerals' in India -

The Institute is now recognised to be one of the preferred professional society for all appropriately qualified personnel associated with the study and practices of the minerals and energy industries in India.

Prior to Independence, the Government of India used to seek suggestion/comments of the institute in wide ranging issues from "induction of safety measures in underground mines to "income tax" slabs for small scale mines. The practice continued in post-independence era.


To advance and protect the interest of the mineral industries and the welfare of those engage therein and to assist maintaining an honourable practice in the professions of Geology Mining, Metallurgical and allied subjects connected with the mineral industry of the country.

Events & Activities

MGMI fulfills its objectives to encourage, assist and extend knowledge and information connected with Geology, Mining, Metallurgy, through organizing technical lectures, discussion etc., by holding Seminars, Conferences, Technical Meeting and Tours, Publication of regular Journals, Transactions, Newsletters and Scientific Research work.

Headquarters and Chapter

The Institute’s Headquarters is in the Kolkata and has 18 branches at Asansol, Assam, Bangalore, Bilaspur, Bhubaneswar, Calcutta, Dhanbad, Goa, Hyderabad, Jamshedpur, Kothagudem, Mumbai, Nagpur, New Delhi, Orissa, Rajasthan, Ranchi and Singrauli.

The Institute is represented in:

  • Coal Advisory Council, Govt. of India
  • Mineral Advisory Board
  • Central Geological Programming Board (Apex body which approves annually the total exploration programmes across the country)

  • Bureau of Indian Standards
  • National Safety Council
  • Selection Committee for "National Mineral Award" ( Highest level national award in the field of geology-mining-metallurgy)


  • Mining
  • Metallurgy
  • Excavation

  • Geology
  • Engineers and other Professionals associated with Mining Industry

Involvement of Institutions & Organizations:

  • Metal Mining Companies
  • Coal Mining Companies
  • Geological Exploration Agencies

  • Oil & Gas Companies
  • Private Entrepreneurs
  • Educational Institutions

Capabilities, Services and Expertise:


  • Geological Mapping
  • Exploration Strategies and Supervision
  • Resource Assessment
  • Engineering Geology

  • Environmental Impact Assessment and Environmental Management Plan
  • Water Resource Assessment
  • Independent Evaluation of Annual & Plan Programs of Geological and Mining Activities


  • Mine Planning & Design
  • Computerized Project Monitoring
  • Environmental Management Planning
  • Environmental Audit
  • Coal & Mineral Beneficiation

  • Executive Development
  • Training of Mine personnel
  • Mine Safety aspects
  • R & D work related to Mining Problems
  • Safety Audit


MGMI Council

Anil Kr Jha, Former Chairman, CIL


Binay Dayal, Director (Technical), CIL

Vice President

P K Sinha, CMD, NCL

Vice President

P R Mandal, Former Advisor, MoC

Vice President

J P Goenka, Mng Partner

Vice President

Dr Narendra Kumar Nanda

Immediate Past President

Rajiw Lochan

General Manager (CED), CMPDI

Prasanta Roy, Sr Manager (Geol/CV), CIL

Immediate Past Secretary

Ranajit Talapatra, Sr Manager (CP), CIL

Honorary Joint Secretary

Anil Kumar Karmakar

Honorary Treasurer

Prof (Dr) Khanindra Pathak

Honorary Editor

L K Bose, Former Executive Director, CIL

Council Member

Dr Amalendu Sinha, Former Director, CSIR-CIMFR

Council Member

Prof (Dr) Ashis Bhattacherjee, IIT, Kharagpur

Council Member

Prof (Dr) GP Karmakar, IIT, Kharagpur

Council Member

Anil Kumar Singh, TS/GM to Director (Technical), MCL

Council Member

Dr Kalyan Sen, Former Director, CIMFR

Council Member

Prof (Dr) Sajal Dasgupta, VC, Univ of Engg & Mgmt

Council Member

V K Arora, Chief Mentor (Coal), KCT & Bros

Council Member

Anup Biswas, Former DDG, Mines Safety

Council Member

Akhilesh Choudhury, Former DDG, GSI|

Council Member

Prof Bhabesh Chandra Sarkar, Professor, IIT-ISM, Dhanbad

Council Member

Dr Netai Chandra Dey, Professor, IIEST, Shibpur

Council Member

Dr Jai Prakash Barnwal, Former Chief Scientist, RRL

Council Member

Smarajit Chakrabarti, Former CMD, ECL

Council Member

Tapas Kumar Nag, Former CMD, NCL

Council Member

Dr Abani Kanta Samantaray, General Manager (CV), CIL

Council Member